Intro to SURJ Meeting

Want to get involved with SURJ Bay Area? Come learn about our current work and activities. You'll also hear about SURJ committees, as well as upcoming workshops and events. We'll answer your questions, and share how you can get involved in the movement for racial justice.

The entrance to Oakstop is wheelchair accessible. The door on Broadway has a long handle that opens out, and inside a button to auto-open the door to exit. There is an elevator to the basement where the event is held, or if you take the stairs it's approximately 25 steps. Restrooms have wheelchair accessible stalls, though the door handles to the entrances to the restrooms are slightly high - we will try to prop open the night of the event. Restrooms are gendered at Oakstop, but we ask everyone to treat them as gender neutral and use whichever restroom feels most comfortable. Oakstop does use some chemically scented cleaning products, but we will provide fragrance free soap in the bathrooms, and will reserve several rows of seating for people who are sure that they are free of fragrances and need to sit in a space that is less scented. 
NOTE: We ask that attendees please refrain from wearing scented or fragranced body products or laundry detergent, to support access for people with chemical sensitivities. See for more info on going fragrance free.
If you have additional access needs, questions, or offerings, please email
Parking and transportation:
The closest BART station is 19th Street BART. There is metered street parking on Broadway and in the area that is free after 6 pm, but please try to carpool and arrive early to leave time to find a spot. 


March 08, 2017 at 7pm - 9pm
1721 Broadway
Oakland, CA 94612
United States
Google map and directions
Danielle Hirokane Mary Cosola Ariel Mathis Maya Tobias Emma Cohen Scott Raynor Maura McMichael Lilly MacRae Ross Cunningham Alexandra De La Hoz Heather Delagi Saren O'Grady Jessica Brownell Shanti Jensen Joel Lusk Angela Shannon Jeremy Dorson Judy Rohrer Koe Creation Kathy Jessen Rose Larsen Grant Buckingham Tessa Nicholas Monica Contois Hannah Piercey Brooke Giesen Ryan Hebert Kathleen Boergers Samuel Wasserman Brittany Cronin Jackson Shaad Lindsey Reed Idalia Bamert Mallory Meiser Megan Pera william wohlfeiler Anna Kelly Sophie Speer Natalie Dolarian Susan Katz Kaitlyn Custer nicole van dawark Lexi Sturdy Summer Hirtzel Khrishna Moore Grace Lesser Susi Brennan Ashley Marks

Will you come?